[Five Minute Friday] First

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

I hope you had some quiet weeks to spend time with your family, stuff yourself with good food and let the Christmas joy settle in your heart.
And to ring in the New Year in all corners around the world.

January. First month of the year.
Beginning of so many new things.
Quite a lot of people use the new year to come up with resolutions.
This is what I will do this year. Well, maybe until January 10 until work starts again and you just need these guilty pleasures or weaknesses to keep you going.
I’m not a big fan of these resolutions because they put so much pressure on me and the disappointment coming along with them is not really helping.
So here are some things I will NOT do in the next year.

I will not be able to keep up with all the friends around the globe, as much as I want to. I will, though, be more intentional in my investing and sharing.

I will not work 24-7 and carry the world’s weight on my shoulders. More than that, I will practice keeping Sabbath and organizing my week and heart towards it, not away from it.

I will not do quiet time every day and feel bad about it. God can be found outside my room at 5 a.m. and I want to challenge myself to find Him in unexpected places.

21b

I will not sit around and wait for the perfect plan to move forward, the perfect guy to show up, the perfect job to secure my future. Waiting time is never wasted time and I want to make the most of the days right in front of me.

I will not keep up the facade of a happy clappy, perfectly-in-order life every single day. That would be a lie. I am a human being that struggles like everyone else, that falls and has to deal with her mess. I will, however, practice more vulnerability.

This year I will learn to not DO.
I will BE.

What are some of the things you want to learn this year? I would love to hear from you!

Writing for Five Minute Friday today. One prompt, five minutes on the timer and Go! No editing, but lots of sharing and connecting! Come and join us?

Author: Katha von Dessien

Teacher. Believer in the Wilderness. Third Culture Kid. World Traveler. People and Food at the Table Lover. Writer.

11 thoughts on “[Five Minute Friday] First”

  1. totally relate to “not keeping up with everyone” – i’m always struggling with the tension in that one, because i want to be intentional with relationships but often feel guilty that i can’t “keep up” with as many people as i want. Thanks for sending this to me !! πŸ™‚

  2. Happy New Year! I enjoyed your “resolutions”, and just about all of them resonated with me. I especially related to organizing the week toward a Sabbath, finding God outside of quiet time, and practicing vulnerability. These are all things I’m working on or have been. I can’t tell you how freeing it’s been to learn how to admit “I’m stressed” to those I’m close with. Blessings on all of your endeavors!

  3. Be not do—YES! I started doing the one word practice a few years ago because I couldn’t seem to keep any resolutions. I love your list of ways to be this year. I’m over in the #6 spot this week.

  4. recognize your pic in this piece, I think…..Greensboro close to Elm Street. Thanks for the good Friday start to the day.

  5. I love that your focus will be not to “do” but to “be” this year. I “do” so many things and get uncomfortable just “being”. “Doing” makes me feel worthy and accomplished and I don’t think that is what God or those who love me need from me. Thank you for sharing.

    1. I agree Kamryn. Probably a struggle for many of us. A friend of mine used to always say… “You’re a human being, not a human doing. ” πŸ˜‰ And great post Katha. More vulnerability is a hope of mine as well. God bless!

Join the Conversation!